Who Won the World Cup from 1930 to 2018

The World Cup is a significant football competition. Teams from various nations compete against one another. The world champion is the team that triumphs in the final match. The World Cup happens every four years. But it did not happen in 1942 and 1946 because of a big war. In this article, we will discuss who won the World Cup from 1930 to 2018.

The World Cup Games

This table shows the World Cup games from 1930 to 2018. It shows who won, who lost, the score, where and when they played, and how many people watched.

Year Winners Score Losers Place Country People
1930 Uruguay 4–2 Argentina Estadio Centenario Uruguay 68,346
1934 Italy 2–1 Czechoslovakia Stadio Nazionale PNF Italy 55,000
1938 Italy 4–2 Hungary Stade Olympique de Colombes France 45,000
1950 Uruguay 2–1 Brazil Maracanã Stadium Brazil 199,854
1954 West Germany 3–2 Hungary Wankdorf Stadium Switzerland 62,500
1958 Brazil 5–2 Sweden Råsunda Stadium Sweden 51,800
1962 Brazil 3–1 Czechoslovakia Estadio Nacional Chile 68,679
1966 England 4–2 (extra time) West Germany Wembley Stadium England 96,924
1970 Brazil 4–1 Italy Estadio Azteca Mexico 107,412
1974 West Germany 2–1 Netherlands Olympiastadion West Germany 75,200
1978 Argentina 3–1 (extra time) Netherlands Estadio Monumental Argentina 71,483
1982  Italy 3–1 West Germany   Santiago Bernabéu Stadium Madrid, Spain 90,000
1986 Argentina 3–2 West Germany Azteca Stadium Mexico City, 114,600
1990  West Germany 1–0 Argentina  Olympic Stadium Rome, Italy 73,603
1994  Brazil 0–0 (extra time) (3–2 penalties) Italy Rose Bowl Stadium Pasadena, United States 94,194
1998  France 3–0 Brazil Stade de France Saint-Denis, France 80,000
2002  Brazil 2–0 Germany International Stadium Yokohama Yokohama, Japan 69,029
2006  Italy 1–1 (extra time) (5–3 penalties) France Olympiastadion Berlin, Germany 69,000
2010  Spain 1–0 (extra time) Netherlands Soccer City Johannesburg, South Africa 84,490
2014  Germany 1–0 (extra time) Argentina Maracanã Stadium Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 74,738
2018  France 4–2 Croatia Luzhniki Stadium Moscow, Russia 78,011

The Best Teams

Brazil is the best team in the World Cup. They won five times and lost two times. Moreover, they played in every World Cup. Brazil’s first win was in 1958. They beat Sweden 5-2 in the last game. Pele was a young player who scored two goals. He became very famous. After that, Brazil won again in 1962 and 1970. Pele won three World Cups. He is the only player who did that. Finally, Brazil’s last win was in 2002. They beat Germany 2-0 in the last game. Ronaldo scored both goals.

On the other hand, Italy and Germany are the second-best teams. They won four times each. Italy won their first two times in 1934 and 1938. They were the first team to win twice in a row. However, they had to wait until 1982 to win again. Then, they won their fourth time in 2006. Germany also won for the first time in 1954. The previous game saw them defeat Hungary 3-2. It was a big surprise. Furthermore, they won again in 1974, 1990, and 2014.

It has three victories. In 1978, they first triumphed. In the previous game, they defeated the Netherlands 3-1 after overtime. Mario Kempes scored two goals. 1986 saw them win once more. The most recent game saw them defeat West Germany 3-2. The best athlete was Diego Maradona. He assisted on five goals and scored five times. 2022 saw Argentina’s third victory. They beat France on penalties after a 1-1 draw in the last game. Lionel Messi won his first World Cup.

France and Uruguay have two wins

In 1998, France won for the first time. Before that, they defeated Brazil 3-0 in the previous game. Two goals were scored by Zinedine Zidane. Twenty years later, in 2018, France triumphed once more. They beat Croatia 4-2 in the last game. Kylian Mbappe scored one goal and was the best young player. On the other hand, Uruguay won for the first time in 1930. They beat Argentina 4-2 in the last game. They were the hosts of the first World Cup. Moreover, Uruguay won again in 1950. They beat Brazil 2-1 in the last game. It was a big shock.

England and Spain have one win 

England won their only time in 1966. They beat West Germany 4-2 after extra time in the last game. Geoff Hurst scored three goals. He was the first player to do that in a World Cup final. Meanwhile, Spain won their only time in 2010. They beat the Netherlands 1-0 after extra time in the last game. Andres Iniesta scored the winning goal.

Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Sweden, Netherlands, and Croatia played in the last game but did not win.

The End

Watching the World Cup is a lot of fun. Many people support their teams because they love football. Furthermore, there are a lot of memorable moments and historical players at the World Cup. The list of World Cup champions also demonstrates the various styles of play and football victories by various teams.


By Ruben D

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *